These are a few of my favorite songs…

As I have mentioned, I love music, perhaps as much as one can love music without actually having musical talent in terms of playing an instrument.  What turns me on are songs that have an emotional impact on me, that make me feel something deep in my heart.  There are simply so many.  This is NOT a “best songs” list; that whole concept is rather absurd, although I sometimes play that game just for kicks.  Also, these few are in no particular order.

Bohemia – Mae Moore

I always meet someone I could call friend
Prejudice is something we can transcend
Coming into season this world will flower
With the power of love, not the love of power…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wiKB9UGYPrQ

I fell in love with this song the first time I heard it.  If you are cynical and jaded, you may think Mae Moore is just another naive, bohemian peacenik.  OK, maybe she is, but she’s so wonderfully, poetically right, and the message is undeniable.

Chill Out (Things Gonna Change) – John Lee Hooker w/ Carlos Santana

This song speaks for itself.  Possibly the coolest song of all time!  And that is not negotiable! 😉

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=43yvS6bPZDs

Angel – Sarah McLachlan

In the arms of an angel
Fly away from here
From this dark cold hotel room
And the endlessness that you fear
You are pulled from the wreckage
Of your silent reverie
You’re in the arms of the angel
May you find some comfort there.

This song is popular for funerals, but I do not necessarily think of it that way.  Life can be a struggle at times, a real grind, and yet I know that I am blessed and very fortunate.  I have always felt I have a guardian angel looking over me, and so I focus on the word “comfort” and the idea that we living, breathing but frazzled and overloaded people of the earth can gain strength from listening to Sarah and this amazing piece.

I actually prefer the studio recording.  Here is a video set to that…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hx4RsCfL_fA

And here’s a live version…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7CbAjj80NIM

Wish You Were Here – Pink Floyd

How I wish, how I wish you were here.
We’re just two lost souls swimming in a fish bowl, year after year,
Running over the same old ground.
What have you found? The same old fears.
Wish you were here.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EAchKt2xjsw

I do not have a “favorite” Pink Floyd song; this is just one of many great one.  I can honestly say I never get tired of hearing Pink Floyd – their songs simply cannot be overplayed for me.

Here’s another great lyric:

Time – Pink Floyd

Every year is getting shorter never seem to find the time.
Plans that either come to naught or half a page of scribbled lines
Hanging on in quiet desperation is the English way…

Don’t just gloss over that last bit.  It has real significance if you think about World War II and the London Blitz.  Stoic, steely English resolve is major reason the war wasn’t lost outright by 1940.  I realize Roger Waters may not have been thinking about that when he wrote the song (which is according to some sources about former band member Syd Barrett’s mental breakdown), but on some level I think it applies.  The song fits nicely with my own theme of the importance of friendships and connectivity.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nSLqbl2Xshs

Redemption Songs – Bob Marley

Won’t you help to sing
These songs of freedom?
‘Cause all I ever have:
Redemption songs,
Redemption songs.
Emancipate yourselves from mental slavery;
None but ourselves can free our minds.

Wow, powerful stuff.  I can’t put my finger on why this song feels like it speaks to me.  I know nothing about Bob Marley’s personal experiences, about slavery, about most of what he sings about, and yet there is something about the theme of redemption that hits me right in the heart.  Love it.

Here’s a live video:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OFGgbT_VasI

About goldenbearflyer

Robert Martz is a writer who doesn't make any money writing, so he keeps a day job in finance. He lives and works in Walnut Creek, CA. He began blogging in 2011 as a way of taking responsibility for and finding a place to put his thoughts and feelings. He loves to eat, cook, and travel. He volunteers, practices yoga, runs, bicycles, hikes, and explores nature with passion and a child-like sense of wonder. He is inspired by his amazing friends, doers and other writers. Check out another of his blogs at http://goldenbearflyer.webnode.com/.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

