you never know who you might meet

Today I drove a sweet little old lady to Martinez to see her husband in a senior care facility.  When we arrived at his room, he asked who I was, and I introduced myself.  It was clear that he wanted some privacy to talk, so I told the lady and him that I would wait outside his room.  I walked around for awhile.  There was an activity room where some guys were watching an episode of Sanford & Son – hadn’t seen that in years, it was actually pretty funny!  I was walking around some more, and this old guy with a walker looked straight at me and started talking to me.  He was harmless, you know, but talked a MILE A MINUTE.  I asked him his name, and he said “Elmer” something.  He was talking a lot about jobs he used to do, like some kind of farming, crane operating, etc., but it was a bit hard to understand everything.  He told lots of jokes, too:

Why did the turtle cross the road?

To get to the shell station.

 Why did the strawberry need an attorney?

It got in a jam.

 What do you call a smart blonde?

A golden retriever.

 How many blondes does it take to screw in a lightbulb?

Can’t count that high.

He was full of this stuff.  When I told him I needed to check on my friend, he came with me, down this long hallway.  Luckily I did get there just as she was leaving, and he started to talk to her, too!  She smiled and was polite enough, but she did not really wanted to talk to him.  She wanted to leave, and I felt bad, but you know…  So I told him I would see him next week, because I am driving her there again, maybe just one more time, we shall see.

It really made my day, helping her out.  And meeting Elmer was a bonus.  What a character!

 

About goldenbearflyer

Robert Martz is a writer who doesn't make any money writing, so he keeps a day job in finance. He lives and works in Walnut Creek, CA. He began blogging in 2011 as a way of taking responsibility for and finding a place to put his thoughts and feelings. He loves to eat, cook, and travel. He volunteers, practices yoga, runs, bicycles, hikes, and explores nature with passion and a child-like sense of wonder. He is inspired by his amazing friends, doers and other writers. Check out another of his blogs at http://goldenbearflyer.webnode.com/.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

