June update

As I have mentioned in the past, one approach to life that I like is to try to do things I’ve never done before — keep things interesting and in a state of discovery.  How am I doing in June?

For one thing, I went to a live improv show with David and Rita.  Our mutual friend Bill is in the troupe.  It was a lot of fun, very similar to the old show “Whose Line Is It Anyway?” made famous by Drew Carey.  I knew there would be audience participation, which I didn’t really want to do, but I figured there was no escaping it.  So for the first skit (or one of the first?), when they asked for a couple of volunteers from the audience, up went my hand.  David raised his hand too, and I was hoping they would call both of us, but I was picked along with some other random dude.  As luck would have it, the skit involved the volunteers making sound effects for the troupe, and that the ONE skit I did not want to do, because I know it’s hard!  And I was right; it was embarrassing, but fun.  Anyway, it turned out OK I guess, and the rest of the show was great.  Attend live improv show:  Check!  Not a “bucket list” thing, perhaps, but certainly worthwhile.

Cycling-wise, for father’s day I decided to set the goal of doing a tough ride I had never done:  first, ride all the way around Mt. Diablo, using a route I have used several times (normally 53 miles door-to-door), but also go to the summit of Mt. Diablo.  Because of the way I used the “south gate” approach to the mountain through Danville, I turned toward the ascent after about 40 or so miles into my ride.  By the time I reached the junction where the south approach meets the north gate road, I had already gone about 50 miles, and my legs were tired.  With still 4.5 miles of steep climbing remaining, I never seriously considered giving up, but there was doubt in my mind as to whether I could do it without falling off the bike!  Those last few miles were grueling; my pace was much slower than usual.  I felt like my body had the energy, but my legs just had no pop.  For the first time ever, I really wasn’t sure I could do the super-steep hill at the very top.  Somehow I managed to get there.  All in all, it was a 66-mile ride with the equivalent of climbing Mt. Diablo twice, due to all the other hills I rode.  Toughest ride ever, for me.  Glad I did it, not sure when I will try that again!

I am also very excited about an idea I have for a book I want to write.  I wrote down some notes, and I have a basic outline of how it will go.  It’s not a novel — more of a really long essay to be divided into chapters.  I’ll see if I can turn it into what I hope will be a publishable book.  I could self-publish if I want to; not sure it matters.

I have had other ideas for books, but this is a completely new and different idea I had recently based on a conversation I had with a Facebook friend.  All I know is that I want to pursue it and see where it leads.

 

About goldenbearflyer

Robert Martz is a writer who doesn't make any money writing, so he keeps a day job in finance. He lives and works in Walnut Creek, CA. He began blogging in 2011 as a way of taking responsibility for and finding a place to put his thoughts and feelings. He loves to eat, cook, and travel. He volunteers, practices yoga, runs, bicycles, hikes, and explores nature with passion and a child-like sense of wonder. He is inspired by his amazing friends, doers and other writers. Check out another of his blogs at http://goldenbearflyer.webnode.com/.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

