gifts and blessings

I sometimes poke fun at the strange things one of my yoga instructor says; it’s all in fun, because she is a very good instructor IMHO, and I enjoy the positive energy she projects.

At the end of class, she wraps it up by saying something to the effect, “Give thanks for your many gifts and blessings.”  To me (and others, I presume) they are not just empty words.  I do consciously think to myself, “I am grateful for my many blessings.”  I try to do that as often as possible, because I know I have been very fortunate in life.  Nevertheless, it is easy to let that become rote, to just go through the motions.

After yesterday’s class I had an “ah ha” moment:  I need to take the concept of gifts & blessings a step further and not simply be thankful for them but to do a better job of recognizing them.  Recently it has become clear to me that I am, at times, far too easily frustrated and negative about little things other people do or don’t do.  In fact, I have a good friend to thank for calling me on my poor behavior; I learned a valuable lesson, and I regret that it came at someone else’s expense.  These perceived slights are stupid and all in my head, and I need to eliminate such negative thoughts.  Instead, I need to flip it around and simply focus on the positive gifts that come my way and leave it at that.  A smile, a kind word — each little thing people do give is a blessing.  It’s nothing against me if they are busy and I don’t hear from them, but it’s a plus when they reach out.

All of this ties in quite well with the concept of letting go of expectations.  Now, I am taking it further and working on simply letting go of negative feelings and reactions.  Continuing to let myself get frustrated by others is not an option.

Just in the past couple of days I feel happier and more at peace as I apply this outlook and count my blessings.  The next step is to pay less attention to gifts given to me and focus more on what gifts I give to others.

About goldenbearflyer

Robert Martz is a writer who doesn't make any money writing, so he keeps a day job in finance. He lives and works in Walnut Creek, CA. He began blogging in 2011 as a way of taking responsibility for and finding a place to put his thoughts and feelings. He loves to eat, cook, and travel. He volunteers, practices yoga, runs, bicycles, hikes, and explores nature with passion and a child-like sense of wonder. He is inspired by his amazing friends, doers and other writers. Check out another of his blogs at http://goldenbearflyer.webnode.com/.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to gifts and blessings

  1. Kathleen Bryson says:

    Bravo Robert …!

  2. Kathleen Bryson says:

    Please keep writing Robert …you have a lot of valuable thoughts to share with everyone …so please …like Nike says ….JUST DO IT!

  3. Kathleen Bryson says:

    Oh and BTW …your damn good at it…just mho ..but I strongly believe that many others will also enjoy your blogs and your style. It’s easy to read …makes sense ….and is very personable.
    You make me want more ….like I don’t want your story to end. Since I’m not really an avid reader ..that is saying something …I feel I could read a book of yours and never want it to end . Write that book Robert …Write that book!

Leave a Reply

