directions? I don’t need no stinking directions

Started writing an introduction and outline of my book today.  It’s a lot like beginning a journey with a general destination in mind and no pre-planned route.  I can draw my own roadmap!  No directions required, just following the landmarks, the sun, or the stars.

Writing can be really easy when there is no outside pressure — if I don’t feel like writing, I don’t, but when I do get started the words just pour out.  I totally understand why my daughter loves writing but is not so enamored of writing assignments in school.  The trick in school is to figure out something you wanted to write about anyway and use it to fulfill a requirement…

And there’s Linda, my older sister, who is a newspaper reporter.  I don’t know whether she really enjoys creative writing or not, but reporting facts, dealing with editors, and meeting deadlines is a whole different ball of wax, obviously.  Not sure I would really like that or not, but I am very proud of what she does; in this day in age, she would probably not have a job in the struggling newspaper industry unless she were talented!  Go, Linda!

At any rate, I am enjoying the sense of discovery I experience when I sit down at the keyboard with no clear notion of how I will get from point A to B.  As in cooking and music, where recipes and scores can be treated merely as suggestions, as the basis for variations on a theme, directions and roadmaps are fine but the fun of traveling is often in the unexpected twists, turns, and side roads…

 

About goldenbearflyer

Robert Martz is a writer who doesn't make any money writing, so he keeps a day job in finance. He lives and works in Walnut Creek, CA. He began blogging in 2011 as a way of taking responsibility for and finding a place to put his thoughts and feelings. He loves to eat, cook, and travel. He volunteers, practices yoga, runs, bicycles, hikes, and explores nature with passion and a child-like sense of wonder. He is inspired by his amazing friends, doers and other writers. Check out another of his blogs at http://goldenbearflyer.webnode.com/.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

