feelin’ groovy

From Dictionary.com:

–adjective, groov·i·er, groov·i·est.

1.

Slang . highly stimulating or attractive; excellent: groovymusic; a groovy car.
2.

inclined to follow a fixed routine.

Huh?  Fixed routine?  Nooooooo…

From Urban Dictionary:

1. groovy 467 up64 down
A term that came about in the 60s.
It means “excellent”, “tubular”, “awesome”, or “cool”.
Guy 1: Dude, I just bought The Beatles’ White Album on CD!
Guy 2: Groovy man!

True.  Better, but still not quite what I’m thinking of…  Maybe groovy can’t be defined so well in words, because it’s more of a feeling, like what Simon & Garfunkel were singing about.  I certainly can’t think of words for what I mean by it.  It’s the kind of thing, you know it when you feel it.

Sooooo, following up on my list of happy songs, I have been day-dreaming about songs that make me feel groovy, like…  well, like a dip and a shuffle and a strut, like R&B and and jazz rolled into one, like the best of the 60s and early 70s, but before disco.  Damn, I just can’t describe it except to give you my list of grooviest songs, man!  And no, The 59th Street Bridge Song is not on it.

Hang on Sloopy

This song is so freakin’ groovy, I don’t know why and I don’t care.  What the heck kind of a name is “Sloopy” anyway?!  It sounds so dumb, it must be cool! Here’s a quick fact that helps explain why this song is embedded in my subconsciousness:  During the 60s and 70s, my formative years in Columbus, Ohio, this was a favorite song of the Ohio State University marching band (apparently it still is).  I heard them play it a lot during halftime shows of football games, and they played it fabulously!  Of course, nothing beats the original recording by The McCoys:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gi1WXYHHc2s

Now doesn’t that make you wanna groove!  Tubular!

Baby I Love You

Aretha Franklin!  Holy moley, is there anybody cooler on the planet?!  And if this song doesn’t get your mojo going, then, um, I hate to tell you, you may be dead already!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bScWLXAN1v8

Up On the Roof

Right smack dab in the middle of town
I’ve found a paradise that’s trouble proof (up on the roof)
And if this world starts getting you down
There’s room enough for two
Up on the roof…

I couldn’t find a good video of The Drifters performing this song, so this montage set to the music will have to do.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7F_opWg9_qI

One of the YouTube comments somebody posted was like, you have to be from New York to “get” this song?!  Hell no, works for me.  I really love the part about “room enough for two” — that is groovy man, that is peace and love!  What a beautiful sentiment.

Shambala

Oh, don’t get me started on how vastly under-rated Three Dog Night is.  Whoops, too late.  They churned out so many great songs in a relatively short period of time (’68-’75), and this is one of my favorites.

Everyone is helpful, everyone is kind
On the road to Shambala
Everyone is lucky, everyone is so kind
On the road to Shambala

Yeah, man, can you dig it?  I did not even know when I was young that they simply covered it, but I can’t imagine a better version.  Here’s Three Dog  Night live:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xnyh6i9NvmE

Stir It Up

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pd2GZqQOuRw

Aretha hold the coolness title in the female division, but Bob Marley is right there in the guy category.  In no way am I suggesting he is under-rated — I think he rightfully gets his due respect among a huge fan following, even 30 years after his death.  How-everrrr, I do think Stir It Up is under-played and perhaps under-appreciated compared to some of his popular hits.  The extended guitar solo in this song is so sublimely cool, and really unique sounding, that it ranks as one of my grooviest songs of all time!

Those are just five songs right there.  I have more!  But I’m tired, gonna go to bed now.  I’ll do Part 2 of this list very soon. 🙂

 

About goldenbearflyer

Robert Martz is a writer who doesn't make any money writing, so he keeps a day job in finance. He lives and works in Walnut Creek, CA. He began blogging in 2011 as a way of taking responsibility for and finding a place to put his thoughts and feelings. He loves to eat, cook, and travel. He volunteers, practices yoga, runs, bicycles, hikes, and explores nature with passion and a child-like sense of wonder. He is inspired by his amazing friends, doers and other writers. Check out another of his blogs at http://goldenbearflyer.webnode.com/.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

