more groovy songs!

I’m beginning to sound like Austin Powers, I know!  But the list could go on and on…

Shakin’ the Tree – Peter Gabriel & Youssou Ndour

Love this song, and there’s a great video to go with it!  Peter Gabriel and Paul Simon are two artists that embraced African musical influences and intertwined them beautifully with the pop/rock genre.  Not only that, Gabriel made a powerful statement for women.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z06mQT_vkkw

(I love the remix version, but I couldn’t find a good video for it.)

Drift Away – Dobie Gray

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zaPnOASOWIU

Wow, this song should take you back.  I wonder why Dobie Gray didn’t make more great records?  He is still around — 71 years old, younger than I would have thought.  I had no idea until now that he was born in a small town in Texas.  I would have guessed New York or Detroit or something.  Wherever, he and his hit song are super groovy!

Into the Mystic – Van Morrison

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cpPSBzGEklE

I thought twice about including this on my list, because the song virtually transcends everything around it.  It doesn’t make me happy, exactly, in the same way the other songs do.  Doesn’t make me sad, by any means, but there’s definitely a melancholy note to it.  With it’s lyric about “when that fog horn blows”, it is a great song for the Bay Area!  As usual, I prefer the album version on Moondance, but it’s cool to see him perform it live too!

All Right Now – Free

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=htuxb-m4-ng

Now this is a live version that is equally as great as the single that I grew up listening to on the radio.  Really excellent!  The song is straight rock ‘n roll, oozing sex.  Doesn’t get much better.

Wild West End – Dire Straits

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bfVkzBAGUVw

I’ve  posted this video on Facebook before — I just never get tired of this song, could listen to it every day.  I’ve never been to London, let alone the wild west end of it, but the song really grabs me.  Mark Knoplfer is an awesome songwriter, and I think this is right up there with his best.  Let me leave you with just this bit of sentimental lyric:

Walking with your wild best friend

 

About goldenbearflyer

Robert Martz is a writer who doesn't make any money writing, so he keeps a day job in finance. He lives and works in Walnut Creek, CA. He began blogging in 2011 as a way of taking responsibility for and finding a place to put his thoughts and feelings. He loves to eat, cook, and travel. He volunteers, practices yoga, runs, bicycles, hikes, and explores nature with passion and a child-like sense of wonder. He is inspired by his amazing friends, doers and other writers. Check out another of his blogs at http://goldenbearflyer.webnode.com/.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

