Thankful

Nov. 24, 2011 — I think this Thanksgiving could not have been better.  It was simply a very nice day.  I don’t mean the weather, as it was actually rather drab, damp and cold, although not unseasaonably so.  And I don’t mean silly matters such as sports – the 49ers lost a football game, but so what?  (Even that was not necessarily a bad thing, from a sporting point of view; their coach can use the loss as motivation for the team to improve.)  What was important for me was that I accomplished some goals and felt really happy, and most of my family members and friends seemed to have very nice days, too.

I got out of bed fairly early considering it was a vacation day from work.  Ate a normal breakfast and decided not to go for a bike ride due to some rain.  After checking out Facebook and so forth, I realized I was pretty tired, so I went back to bed and had a nice nap.  When I arose again, I felt refreshed.  One goal today was to visit my Hospice patients, and I made that happen.  I really only intended to make short visits, and that worked out perfectly.  Both patients had other visitors as well, so I was able to check in and wish them a happy Thanksgiving and yet know that they were not lacking for company.

Upon returning home I had time for a jog.  Not only did it feel good, it met my goal of beginning my training for the GoRuck Challenge next June.

After lunch, I sat down with Erik as he worked on his University of California applications.  I was mainly there to answer a few questions he had, lend moral support, and whip out the credit card when it was time to pay the fees.  For him to check that off his to-do list felt like a major accomplishment for both him and his parents!

I also had time to talk to some of my family members on the phone, although I could not reach them all.  I chatted with Linda, Carla, and Patty.

Volunteer work, exercise, and father-son time, and the phone calls added up to a swell day, and the best was yet to come.  I was in a very positive frame of mind when we all headed out the door for the drive to Karen’s parents’ house in Moraga for the traditional Thanksgiving dinner.  As usual, the food was all wonderful! For the first time since I can remember, I did not even overeat — did not even have seconds.  (That was probably due to having eaten lunch coupled with the fact that they started dinner earlier than usual.)  My father-in-law was in a good mood, so there were no unpleasantries.  We watched some football and played a few board games.  Everyone had a good time.

I am thankful for my family and for the opportunity and time to do the things that are important to me, like the volunteer work.  On days like today I feel as though I am expending energy in a very positive way and yet recharging my batteries at the same time.

About goldenbearflyer

Robert Martz is a writer who doesn't make any money writing, so he keeps a day job in finance. He lives and works in Walnut Creek, CA. He began blogging in 2011 as a way of taking responsibility for and finding a place to put his thoughts and feelings. He loves to eat, cook, and travel. He volunteers, practices yoga, runs, bicycles, hikes, and explores nature with passion and a child-like sense of wonder. He is inspired by his amazing friends, doers and other writers. Check out another of his blogs at http://goldenbearflyer.webnode.com/.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

