‘Tis the season

Another holiday season is upon us.  This year, like so many before it, has seemingly flown by.  Typically I go through a phase lasting a few days at the beginning of December during which I am in no mood for Christmas.  This year I escaped the doldrums for the most part, because I took a positive attitude toward gift shopping.  I am a staunch believer in the importance of Thanksgiving; on principle, I refuse to shortchange it by thinking about Christmas until after giving thanks for all I have (and celebrating by eating). 😉  This year, I compromised by starting my Christmas shopping immediately after Nov. 24th.  For practical reasons, I realized I needed to start earlier:  when you are part of a family gift exchange, and all of that family is several time zones to the east, it makes sense to relieve stress by ordering gifts and getting them shipped out by early December.  Mission accomplished.  I followed up by getting most of the gifts for my California family already.  Buying and giving gifts always raises my holiday spirits!

The other reason I am in the holiday mood is that there are many parties to attend!  Can’t beat free food and drinks, ha ha.  And yes, friends and good conversation are the most important thing.  I’ve already been to two Christmas parties, and I have another one to go to tonight — this one is with my friends at Hospice of the East Bay.  Unlilke the Thanksgiving party Hospice threw for volunteers, I don’t even have to take a pot-luck dish — I get to just show up, eat, drink and be merry!  And after tonight there are still three more parties over the next week, culminating in Westhoff, Cone & Holmstedt’s annual dinner, which is at Prima in Walnut Creek this year and is always a good time.

Here’s wishing everyone and early Merry Christmas!

[Note:  This post is for December 8th, in advance.]

About goldenbearflyer

Robert Martz is a writer who doesn't make any money writing, so he keeps a day job in finance. He lives and works in Walnut Creek, CA. He began blogging in 2011 as a way of taking responsibility for and finding a place to put his thoughts and feelings. He loves to eat, cook, and travel. He volunteers, practices yoga, runs, bicycles, hikes, and explores nature with passion and a child-like sense of wonder. He is inspired by his amazing friends, doers and other writers. Check out another of his blogs at http://goldenbearflyer.webnode.com/.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

