Mercury Retrograde

Image

Everything seemed to out of kilter this morning.  First, I had not slept very well.  Next, some family members were yelling at each other as kids readied for school.  I rode my bike to the office, which went fine despite the 35°F temperature.  As soon as I settled at my desk, I opened a browser, and at first it seemed to work, but within minutes I couldn’t load pages; the internet connection went down.  I called the IT guy (surprisingly reaching him right away), and we spent about half an hour rebooting modems and routers and running tests, after which he decided he would bring us a new router.  Not long after the phone conversation ended, the internet connection came back on its own.  Naturally.

Every little task seemed to be difficult; little obstacles to productivity appeared at every turn.

Mid-morning, I decided to reward myself for not fleeing the office altogether by scrounging through what was left of the box of See’s candy our company had received as a gift from an attorney friend.  As luck would have it, my first choice was a piece with what I believe is marzipan filling — one of my least favorite.  I rarely waste edibles, but in this case I had no patience and threw it away.  My second choice had coconut filling — also a loser for me.  I did try a bite, and it wasn’t horrible, but I did not finish it.  C’est la vie…

To top off the morning, a co-worker asked that I send him a .pdf version of a list of the firm’s deals.  This is typically a one-minute task, a no-brainer.  I had forgotten, however, that he had gone into the database the other day to create a particular sorted list of deals.  I had shown him where to find the database and left him with one instruction:  re-save the database as a file with a different name entirely  or at least copy the data into a separate tab before manipulating it.

Upon opening the file to print the master list to a .pdf file, I discovered that is was a complete mess.  He had not re-saved the file or created a new tab; he simply made his changes to the master list and screwed it all up in the process.  I twill take me quite some time to make it right.

I punted and headed off to my usual Thursday noon yoga class.

When Betty, the instructor, arrived, I approached her on her way in and said, “Have you ever had one of those days where everything is out of kilter?”

Without missing a beat, in all seriousness she looked at me and said, “Mercury is retrograde.  This is what happens.  Also, isn’t it a full moon, or about to be?”  (Actually, the moon will be full in 2 days.)

Ah.  I smiled and replied, “I don’t really believe in astrology, but that matches up!”  Maybe there is something to it; I don’t know.  I bravely added, “But that’s why I’m here for yoga, to put things back in kilter!”  (What is kilter, anyway, and why is it out but never in?  Hmmm, gotta look up the derivation sometime…)

Nearly everyone I talked to had that kind of day.  Annoyances.  Grievances.  A few serious, rather dramatic problems (not having anything to do with me) that I will not go into.

Yeah, the planets are not in alignment and they are mucking things up, peoples!  Blame Mercury!  In any case, I’m bracing myself and dealing with it.

Image

 

About goldenbearflyer

Robert Martz is a writer who doesn't make any money writing, so he keeps a day job in finance. He lives and works in Walnut Creek, CA. He began blogging in 2011 as a way of taking responsibility for and finding a place to put his thoughts and feelings. He loves to eat, cook, and travel. He volunteers, practices yoga, runs, bicycles, hikes, and explores nature with passion and a child-like sense of wonder. He is inspired by his amazing friends, doers and other writers. Check out another of his blogs at http://goldenbearflyer.webnode.com/.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mercury Retrograde

  1. Lori Myers says:

    I think the Mercury Retrograde lasts for a month or so at a time and there have been a lot of them lately. It should be over soon and all should be well in the world again! My friend follows that stuff so I have him tell me when not to make important decisions. 🙂

    • Yeah, I read about it, and you’re right, it lasts for some time. So, it was even funnier that to me my yoga instructor quickly blamed one bad morning on Mercury. I poke fun at her, but it’s all in fun 🙂

Leave a Reply

