It’s the biz-busiest time of the yearrrrr ♪ ♫ ♪

The only sure-fire way to reduce the stress of the holiday season is to suck it up and get things done. Don’t mull over a to-do list; check things off.

I had a plan today, and I executed it.  I saw one of my patients last night and was kicking myself for not remembering to take her some treats, so I wanted to visit her again.  I also wanted to pick up a Christmas gift certificate for my father-in-law.  However, I wanted time for a bike ride, even if relatively short.  I killed several  birds with one stone by using my bike to run all my errands, and I made it more pleasant by waiting until the warmer part of the day (because the trend of mornings with temperatures in the 30s continues).

First I made a stop to pick up some See’s candy, and then I rode over to Concord to visit “Helen”, one of my patients — a lovely old lady who unfortunately is bed-ridden and partially blind but maintains a positive spirit and has a sweet tooth!  (I had one piece of candy myself.  Hey, I need sugar for the bike riding!)  She really appreciated the candy, and I took her several pieces so that she could save some for later.

Next, I rode even further north and picked up the gift certificate; I was pleasantly surprised that the store was doing a decent amount of business despite being in a rather out-of-the-way location.

After that I rode back south to visit “Joe”, my other patient.  That went very well too, as he was very alert, coherent, and talkative.  We walked around and had an interesting conversation.

Finally, I stopped at an ATM on the way home and took care of some money matters.  After all, in the words of Randy Newman, “it’s money that matters!”  Ha ha, I am totally kidding; I just appreciate relate most everything to song titles and appreciate the sarcasm in that one.  It really is amazing how many day-to-day events and activities can be summed up in song titles, though…  But I digress…

Pleased with myself for getting a bunch of stuff done and getting fresh air and exercise at the same time.  Like I said, all this does wonders for combating my stress level!

Oh, I also started my Christmas cards today.  I have a lot more to do, but once I get through them this weekend I will feel mostly ready for Christmas. 🙂

 

About goldenbearflyer

Robert Martz is a writer who doesn't make any money writing, so he keeps a day job in finance. He lives and works in Walnut Creek, CA. He began blogging in 2011 as a way of taking responsibility for and finding a place to put his thoughts and feelings. He loves to eat, cook, and travel. He volunteers, practices yoga, runs, bicycles, hikes, and explores nature with passion and a child-like sense of wonder. He is inspired by his amazing friends, doers and other writers. Check out another of his blogs at http://goldenbearflyer.webnode.com/.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s the biz-busiest time of the yearrrrr ♪ ♫ ♪

  1. Dorie Gitter says:

    Yeah bookmaking this wasn’t a speculative decision outstanding post!

  2. I admire your piece of work, thanks for all the great posts .

Leave a Reply

