boogedy boogedy

OK, I totally couldn’t think of a title for this post, and that was the first thing that came to mind — an old Groucho Marx movie line…

This was just a really excellent day for me.  The thing is, when an opportunity presents itself, you gotta jump at it.

I need to amend what I wrote, however, because not everyone had an excellent day — my daughter, for one, was not feeling well, so I feel bad for her.  Karen was out of the house and could not be reached, so the school called me late-morning, and I had to go pick up Lara and take her home.

Since I was at the school, I decided to try and find an administrator that Erik needs to talk to about an Eagle scout project.  Not only did I find her, she contacted a teacher who is also involved in a project the school wants done, and I had a short conversation with the teacher and obtained her contact info for Erik.  Yes, he could have done this on his own, but they had been slow in getting back to him, so I helped move things along.  It’s exciting, because this is a big deal for him, and now he basically has a pre-approved project idea.  The truly hard part is writing up the project plan, of course, but it potentially saves a lot of time having a project concept that he knows the school wants.  I sure hope it works out for him.

Another cool thing about today is that the sale of my mom’s house finally closed.  It had been on the market for almost a year and a half.  We really only ever had one offer, so the buyer got a good price, but my siblings and I really wanted to be done with it.  This was the house we all grew up in for the most part; my parents had it built in 1968, and my mom lived there for nearly 42 years until she passed away.  I live there from age 5 to 22.  I’m not at all sentimental about the house itself, but it is definitely the closing of a chapter.  I have one sister, one niece and one nephew in Columbus, that’s it.  Everyone else has moved away.  It may be quite awhile before I go back to Columbus, Ohio…

The most fun part of the day was playing bocce with the guys from work at the country club one of my bosses belongs to.  Dinner and drinks after the games.  A good time was had by all!

About goldenbearflyer

Robert Martz is a writer who doesn't make any money writing, so he keeps a day job in finance. He lives and works in Walnut Creek, CA. He began blogging in 2011 as a way of taking responsibility for and finding a place to put his thoughts and feelings. He loves to eat, cook, and travel. He volunteers, practices yoga, runs, bicycles, hikes, and explores nature with passion and a child-like sense of wonder. He is inspired by his amazing friends, doers and other writers. Check out another of his blogs at http://goldenbearflyer.webnode.com/.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to boogedy boogedy

Leave a Reply

