Let the good times roll!

Friday turned out to be worth the wait.  Karen picked me up at the office, and we headed over to Prima for the WCH Christmas dinner.  As usual, the food was wonderful!  Everybody had a good time, and it was fun hanging out and talking with Susanne and her “boyfriend”, a guy who does IT for Kaiser Permanente.  I was so hungry, I just kept eating and eating.  After hors d’oeuvres and caesar salad, there were family -style plates with gnocchi, risotto, and pappardelle with mushrooms.  I especially loved the gnocchi and ate as much as I could.  I ordered veal osso bucco for my entree, and it was excellent.  For dessert there were choices, but most of us had the chocolate sformato with vanilla gelatto.  Yum!  I did not drink much wine, even though Mark and Tony always order plenty of very fine wines; I wanted no chance of a DUI while driving home.  (Karen dropped me off at my office building to get my car before she headed home.)  It was a relaxed crowd of people I have worked with for as much as long as twenty years or more, and their spouses.  I am fortunate to be a part of my work “family”, even if some of them drive me crazy once in awhile!

When I arrived home, the timing was just perfect:  Erik and his friends were just finishing up some gaming, and several of them were able to stay late for a couple of awesome games of Cosmic Encounter!  We played some memorable games and did not wrap up until about 1am, which to me felt like the good old days when I was a teenager!  Erik has a great group of friends, and they are so cool to hang out with his old dad and accept me as part of the “club”.  They know I am always up for Cosmic!  Proud to be a geek!

 

About goldenbearflyer

Robert Martz is a writer who doesn't make any money writing, so he keeps a day job in finance. He lives and works in Walnut Creek, CA. He began blogging in 2011 as a way of taking responsibility for and finding a place to put his thoughts and feelings. He loves to eat, cook, and travel. He volunteers, practices yoga, runs, bicycles, hikes, and explores nature with passion and a child-like sense of wonder. He is inspired by his amazing friends, doers and other writers. Check out another of his blogs at http://goldenbearflyer.webnode.com/.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

