It’s tradition

 

Image

Every year on the morning of Christmas Eve I get up early and drive over to Lunardi’s on the other side of town to do my grocery shopping for Christmas dinner.  I love lamb, and the whole family loves it too.  Lunardi’s has the best butcher shop around, so even though I rarely go there during the year, I make sure and go there to buy the Christmas lamb.  You have to get there really early to avoid the long lines — 7:30am usually does the trick.

I also love to make a fruit salad with out-of-season berries like raspberries, blackberries, blueberries, and strawberries, plus honeydew for the green color.

This year was no different, and I had all the shopping done (including a side-trip to Safeway for a few items) and was home by 8:30am.

I had time in the afternoon for a bike ride to the junction on Mt. Diablo.  It was a beautiful day!

Another tradition is that we eat Christmas Eve dinner at Karen’s parents’ house.  My father-in-law makes superb minestrone soup, and my mother-in-law makes pretzel pie a la mode.  We all ate to our heart’s content and had a nice time.

Erik and I stayed up past midnight playing 51st State, which I wrote about the other day.

All ready for Christmas!

About goldenbearflyer

Robert Martz is a writer who doesn't make any money writing, so he keeps a day job in finance. He lives and works in Walnut Creek, CA. He began blogging in 2011 as a way of taking responsibility for and finding a place to put his thoughts and feelings. He loves to eat, cook, and travel. He volunteers, practices yoga, runs, bicycles, hikes, and explores nature with passion and a child-like sense of wonder. He is inspired by his amazing friends, doers and other writers. Check out another of his blogs at http://goldenbearflyer.webnode.com/.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

