2011 – a very fine year!

 

Image

OK, please bear with me while I take a look back.  I don’t do this very often; I like to live in the moment and look ahead.  However, I might be doing myself a disservice if I don’t reflect a bit on this past year, because it has been fruitful in so many ways.  Sometimes my memory of the past is blurred at best, nonexistent at worst, and it’s because I haven’t recorded enough of it so that I can recall it.

Using stream of consciousness — i.e., in no particular order – here are my most memorable events of 2011:

  • I completed training and began serving as a volunteer for Hospice of the East Bay.  One of my patients, “Bud”, passed away, but on the bright side I had the honor to meet him and another veteran who served with distinction in WWII.
  • Made some cool new friends.
  • Oh, gosh, I began this blog!
  • I met my goal of cycling 10 miles per day on average.
  • I began running again and completed several 5Ks.
  • My siblings and I managed to sell our childhood home in Columbus, Ohio.
  • Karen, the kids and I took two great vacations:  to the Grand Canyon in April and to the Pacific Northwest in August (as covered in detail on this blog :-))
  • I temporarily lost my mind and registered for the crazy GoRuck Challenge next June.  This is not really an accomplishment, obviously, and may be a sign of another mid-life crisis…
  • I cancelled our cable TV subscription with Astound.  Some would call this another bit of craziness, but I’m rather proud of it.
  • Saw Beach Blanket Babylon again.  Funniest show ever!!!
  • Enjoyed several awesome dining experiences at Walnut Creek Yacht Club, Sasa, and other fine restaurants.
  • Finally got around to some landscaping in our backyard – looks good so far; more to do in 2012.

That’s all I can think of right now; I may add more if and when the mood strikes me.

Now I can just get ready for 2012, which ought to be another great year!

 

About goldenbearflyer

Robert Martz is a writer who doesn't make any money writing, so he keeps a day job in finance. He lives and works in Walnut Creek, CA. He began blogging in 2011 as a way of taking responsibility for and finding a place to put his thoughts and feelings. He loves to eat, cook, and travel. He volunteers, practices yoga, runs, bicycles, hikes, and explores nature with passion and a child-like sense of wonder. He is inspired by his amazing friends, doers and other writers. Check out another of his blogs at http://goldenbearflyer.webnode.com/.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

