not feeling like Superman today

I generally donate blood as often as possible, every 8 weeks.  I never have a problem with donating — I always feel great afterward.  Nevertheless, giving up a pint of blood means less oxygen can be processed by the body until the blood regenerates, and I can definitely feel the difference in workouts within a few days of a donation.  I usually schedule the appointments for Monday so that I have all week to recover before, say, a long bike ride on the weekend.

Today, for only the second time ever, but the second time in the past 6 months or so, my iron level was too low to donate.  The first time it happened, I had done probably my toughest-ever bike ride a few days before, and I was told that was the likely cause of my low iron level.  A week or two later I was able to donate.

Since I stepped up my activities to include running, I suppose I am asking more of my blood, so it’s not surprising it happened again.  I did feel more tired the last couple of days (but worse yesterday than today).  As soon as I got home from the aborted appointment I took a vitamin pill with iron, and if I keep that up for a few days I should be fine.

It’s disappointing to be unable to donate, because the blood center can always use the pint.  Ah, well…

The lesson I learned today is that, even though I’ve been feeling great about my training, I have my limits and need to pay attention to what my body needs.  I’m no Superman (I totally just joke about that).  David quipped on Facebook that I’m a “monster”, but that is so far from the truth!  I am nothing compared to many of the cyclists, runners, and bodybuilders around here.  Not selling myself short, just being realistic.  It’s motivating to know that I have a lot of work to do to build my strength up to the level I will need to be for the GoRuck Challenge!

 

About goldenbearflyer

Robert Martz is a writer who doesn't make any money writing, so he keeps a day job in finance. He lives and works in Walnut Creek, CA. He began blogging in 2011 as a way of taking responsibility for and finding a place to put his thoughts and feelings. He loves to eat, cook, and travel. He volunteers, practices yoga, runs, bicycles, hikes, and explores nature with passion and a child-like sense of wonder. He is inspired by his amazing friends, doers and other writers. Check out another of his blogs at http://goldenbearflyer.webnode.com/.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

