losing my religion

This could potentially be a super long post, but I will try to keep it relatively short.  I could write a whole book on the topic of religion, but I don’t have the time right now.

Today I went to a memorial service for the mother of one of my co-workers.  The deceased was a Catholic and used to attend Santa Maria Church in Orinda, so the service was held there. It’s a beautiful church in a gorgeous location.  I keep referring to the “service”.  It was a full-blown Catholic mass.  Naturally.  A Catholic church would not hold a Protestant, Jewish, Muslim or otherwise non-Catholic ritual.  Ha ha, I know that.  The emphasis is on “full-blown”.  It was LONG, to put it mildly.

The funny thing is that one of my bosses is an atheist, so he is REALLY uncomfortable going to Catholic masses.  The ambiance, the ritual, the strangeness.  Surprisingly, he may be no more uncomfortable than I am, and I was raised Catholic.  I was baptized and confirmed. I was an altar boy and a lectern for God’s sake.  Pun intended, hee hee.  My mom wanted one of her boys to be a priest.  I was her youngest boy, and my older brothers did not enter the seminary, so do the math…

As we drove up to the church, I joked to my boss that there would be a separate door for non-believers.  I told him when he walked through that door he would immediately fall into the fires of hell.

That boss says he hates the Catholic church.  He has his reasons. I would not use the word “hate” to describe my own feelings about Catholicism.  I’m not sure what word I would use. Let’s just say it’s complicated.  How unoriginal, in a Facebook sort of way.

During the ordeal, we were asked to stand for a very long time.  I actually used yoga techniques to get through it without passing out.  I just knew the yoga classes would come in handy!

To make the proverbial long story short, I survived. My boss survived, too. It’s only a mass.  No big deal.  It just got me to thinking about Catholicism and religion, which I would gladly write about except that I am going to be a jerk and leave it hanging out there unsaid.  For now.

 

About goldenbearflyer

Robert Martz is a writer who doesn't make any money writing, so he keeps a day job in finance. He lives and works in Walnut Creek, CA. He began blogging in 2011 as a way of taking responsibility for and finding a place to put his thoughts and feelings. He loves to eat, cook, and travel. He volunteers, practices yoga, runs, bicycles, hikes, and explores nature with passion and a child-like sense of wonder. He is inspired by his amazing friends, doers and other writers. Check out another of his blogs at http://goldenbearflyer.webnode.com/.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

