transitioning

That is not the best rendition of Ave Maria I have heard, but it’s the best rendition I could quickly find on YouTube.  Ave Maria was one of my dad’s favorite songs.  In Columbus, Ohio, there is a woman named Mary Helen Adamshick who, in my humble opinion, sings it as well or better than anyone anywhere, and we were lucky enough to hear and see her perform it a number of times.  Although this version sounds like it’s in German or something, the singer’s voice is sort of similar to Mary Helen’s.  I always wished she would have recorded it in a professional studio.  (Maybe she did and I just don’t know it; I will try to contact her.)

The song fits my melancholy mood at the moment.  It’s just a matter of perhaps a day or two, I don’t know, before one of the patients I visit will pass away.  When she does, I will miss her, because I’ve been visiting her for many months.  She is a gracious, sweet lady who happens to love food and eating food, and she likes to talk about football and the 49ers.  She has a great memory and is  always kind enough to ask about how her visitors are doing.  I admire her positive attitude and the way handles the fact that she is blind and bedridden — wishing she could see and move around, but faithfully accepting her limitations.

 

About goldenbearflyer

Robert Martz is a writer who doesn't make any money writing, so he keeps a day job in finance. He lives and works in Walnut Creek, CA. He began blogging in 2011 as a way of taking responsibility for and finding a place to put his thoughts and feelings. He loves to eat, cook, and travel. He volunteers, practices yoga, runs, bicycles, hikes, and explores nature with passion and a child-like sense of wonder. He is inspired by his amazing friends, doers and other writers. Check out another of his blogs at http://goldenbearflyer.webnode.com/.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to transitioning

  1. Kathleen Bryson says:

    Robert you are the one person, or I should say male that I know of that is fully in touch with their feelings and is interested enough to try to analyze them or make some sense of them. You will not always be successful at that, but giving it your best shot is much more time than most people are willing to devote to themselves.

    I have been around the death of some people that I was extremely close to. It is always a sad time when you just know in your gut that the time has come. I understand your emotions at this time, and I know you will analyze, reflect, talk and write your way through this thing called “life.”

    And me for one…..will love reading what your thoughts are on it all!

Leave a Reply

