MLK

Here’s a nice video montage I found on YouTube:

There are so many worthwhile videos and images about Martin Luther King, Jr., one could spend hours, days and weeks reviewing them all.  I chose this one for this post as a nice summary of what the man was about, and his speech itself is masterful.

I was an infant when MLK gave his “I Have a Dream” speech in August 1963, and I was only 5 years old when he was assassinated.  I have not been persecuted nor been the object of racism or bigotry.  As a middle-aged white guy born and bred in the suburbs, I have long been aware I have no “cause” of my own that stems from having to overcome burdens and obstacles placed before me from birth as a result of my race, skin color, gender, religious beliefs, or sexual preference.

Nevertheless, I’m continually amazed by MLK and his timeless messages, saddened by the thought of his horrible assassination, and hopeful that somehow his dream will always live on in the hearts and actions of human beings.

 

About goldenbearflyer

Robert Martz is a writer who doesn't make any money writing, so he keeps a day job in finance. He lives and works in Walnut Creek, CA. He began blogging in 2011 as a way of taking responsibility for and finding a place to put his thoughts and feelings. He loves to eat, cook, and travel. He volunteers, practices yoga, runs, bicycles, hikes, and explores nature with passion and a child-like sense of wonder. He is inspired by his amazing friends, doers and other writers. Check out another of his blogs at http://goldenbearflyer.webnode.com/.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

