KISS

No, not the band.  God forbid I write about that. 😉

KISS = Keep it simple, stupid!  This isn’t what I originally intended to write about today, but it will work.  It better work, because I sort of forgot what I had in mind…

Anyway, a  friend once told me, “Friendship is simple.”  The context was that I screwed up and said stuff I should not have — that is, if I had counted to 10 or 100, I may have cooled off just enough to filter out things better left unsaid.  In other words, I over-thought and over-analyzed and made things more complicated than they needed to be.

I cannot guarantee that I have truly learned my lesson once and for all.  I’m bound to over-analyze again or get pissed off at some point in the future and say something I don’t really mean; however, I think I’m doing pretty well lately at avoiding my own stupidity.

I was reminded of KISS again today when I saw the following on Facebook (author unknown):

Why complicate life?

Missing somebody?……. Call

Wanna meet up?……. Invite

Wanna be understood?……. Explain

Have questions?……. Ask

Don’t like something?……. Say it

Like something?……. State it

Want something?……. Ask for it

Love someone?……. Tell it

Nobody will know what’s going on in your mind… It’s better to express rather than to expect… You already have the NO.  Take the risk of getting the YES.

We only have one life.  Keep it simple, silly!

(The author was just being nice, I guess, with the use of “silly” instead of the way I’ve always heard it:  “stupid”.)

Sometimes I think maybe I do not do very well at all of these steps to keeping things simple.  On the other hand, in general my blog is at least a conscious effort to explain what I’m thinking and feeling and to be understood, so that’s a step in the right direction!

About goldenbearflyer

Robert Martz is a writer who doesn't make any money writing, so he keeps a day job in finance. He lives and works in Walnut Creek, CA. He began blogging in 2011 as a way of taking responsibility for and finding a place to put his thoughts and feelings. He loves to eat, cook, and travel. He volunteers, practices yoga, runs, bicycles, hikes, and explores nature with passion and a child-like sense of wonder. He is inspired by his amazing friends, doers and other writers. Check out another of his blogs at http://goldenbearflyer.webnode.com/.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

