love my sibs

I had a bit of a rough week and was down about some things, but the week has ended on a very positive note.  I decided to spend more time talking to my siblings, whom I miss quite a bit.  They live in Mansfield, Lake Geneva, Phoenix, Beavercreek, and Columbus, respectively.  (I’m holding down the west coast.)  So I reached out and talked to John & Cindy yesterday, and today I had nice chats with Linda and Cathy.  Jim & Patty are up next.  Tom will be the most difficult to get ahold of, most likely, as he is doing long-haul trucking and is often on the road.  Obviously, there are a lot more people in the photo above; I won’t identify all of them right now, but I will point out my wonderful Aunt Ruth, who is basically my oldest living relative on my dad’s side — she is standing second from the left.  She still sends us lovely, handwritten letters from time to time!  A lost art, indeed.

Spending time on the phone with my sibs helped pick up my mood, and my other great anti-depressant is exercise.  I was full of energy today after a great boot camp workout at Forma.  I may be sore for a couple of days (hasn’t hit me yet), but it was worth it.  I feel like those types of workouts will really strengthen me over time.

Finally, my kids made it through finals week.  Stress levels around the house should begin dropping dramatically now that Friday evening is here! 🙂  Plus, the kids have a 3-day weekend due to a teacher in-service day Monday, so they are thrilled about that…

 

About goldenbearflyer

Robert Martz is a writer who doesn't make any money writing, so he keeps a day job in finance. He lives and works in Walnut Creek, CA. He began blogging in 2011 as a way of taking responsibility for and finding a place to put his thoughts and feelings. He loves to eat, cook, and travel. He volunteers, practices yoga, runs, bicycles, hikes, and explores nature with passion and a child-like sense of wonder. He is inspired by his amazing friends, doers and other writers. Check out another of his blogs at http://goldenbearflyer.webnode.com/.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

