comfortably numb / the doctor

Today on 107.7 I heard a cool track I had never heard before.  It was an early demo version of Comfortably Numb by Pink Floyd.  The first part of the lyrics are different, the guitar work is completely different, it lacks a solo, and in all it is nowhere near as good as CF, but hey, it’s like discovering lost treasure!

Kinda leaves you wanting more…  Like the radio station, I’ll present the ultimate version of the song:

I never get tired of hearing that!

But I do get tired, and numb.  Yesterday was the first day in weeks that I didn’t work out at all — no cycling, no running, no boot camp, nothing.  OK, I did 20 pushups before bedtime, but that hardly counts.  It felt good to take a day off.  Except that the real reason I didn’t exercise was that I worked so late!

Today I was back at it.  I tried a GoRuck workout challenge:  1 pushup followed by standing up and “raising the roof” 4 times, then 2 pushups / 8 hand raises, 3/12, etc.  I got up to 8/32, then worked back down, 7/28 down to 1/4.  It strengthens the shoulders and arms.  And causes major arm fatigue!

After dinner I ran 2 miles with 2 bricks in my backpack; the total weight of the pack was 14 lbs.  Felt fine except that one of the backpack’s straps broke after the turn home, so I had to carry it on one shoulder, alternating sides.

I feel pretty good now, but I’m sure I’ll pay in pain the next 2 days…

Now I’ll reward myself with ice cream! 🙂

 

 

About goldenbearflyer

Robert Martz is a writer who doesn't make any money writing, so he keeps a day job in finance. He lives and works in Walnut Creek, CA. He began blogging in 2011 as a way of taking responsibility for and finding a place to put his thoughts and feelings. He loves to eat, cook, and travel. He volunteers, practices yoga, runs, bicycles, hikes, and explores nature with passion and a child-like sense of wonder. He is inspired by his amazing friends, doers and other writers. Check out another of his blogs at http://goldenbearflyer.webnode.com/.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

