happy Valentine’s Day

I gave Karen a heart-shaped chocolate cake, which is funny because she plans to bake a chocolate cake for the family today, and so we will all be overdosing on sugar for a few days!  She also gave me some boxes of dark chocolates.  Holy blood sugar levels…  For dinner, it’s Rocco’s!  We don’t exchange greeting cards anymore; we feel the same way about the overcommercialization of Feb. 14th.  It’s ridiculous to earmark one day out of the year to be about romantic love.  The little things that show love all the other days of the year mean so much more…

Yesterday was a pretty nice day, for a Monday, but I was having so much fun that I blew off this blog, which broke my streak.  I had posted something 68 days in a row!  I can start a new streak, or not.  Records are made to be broken…

I was STILL a bit sore in the thighs and hips from Friday’s boot camp and Saturday’s long bike ride.  Sunday’s yoga class had helped me stretch out, but my recovery time is a bit slow.  Nevertheless, I was determined to do some running, so I forced myself to hit the trail with the Sports Basement running club.  John was there, and we ran 4 miles at an increasing pace — as usual, it felt good.  Unfortunately, as I expected, it aggravated my right heel, so I’m dealing with the plantar fasciitiis pain today.  Tomorrow I plan to do some upper body work at Forma in the morning.

The other great news about Monday is that I locked in the rate on another mortgage re-fi.  When I refinanced in 2009, the rate seemed so low that I was certain I would never have to do it again.  Amazingly, interest rates kept going lower, and here we are.  This is a great deal — nothing out of pocket, and my loan balance stays the same, so it’s like free money.

To top the day off, we watched a 2-hour episode of Downton Abbey (too long; I was tired).  Best episode ever, because virtually every story line in the show had a major turning point.  We literally could not stop watching it.  If you don’t watch it, I recommend you give it a try; this show really grows on you!

I would be remiss if I did not close with some reference Valentine’s Day.  Google searches find zillions of sappy, drippy quotes about love, but here is one that is not too bad (and I don’t care about fact-checking the numbers):

1 universe, 9 planets, 204 countries, 7 seas, and I had the privilege to meet you!

About goldenbearflyer

Robert Martz is a writer who doesn't make any money writing, so he keeps a day job in finance. He lives and works in Walnut Creek, CA. He began blogging in 2011 as a way of taking responsibility for and finding a place to put his thoughts and feelings. He loves to eat, cook, and travel. He volunteers, practices yoga, runs, bicycles, hikes, and explores nature with passion and a child-like sense of wonder. He is inspired by his amazing friends, doers and other writers. Check out another of his blogs at http://goldenbearflyer.webnode.com/.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

