lose something, get it back

One of my “talents” is finding things I’ve lost — or rather, I should say sometimes they find there way back to me.  I have always been lucky this way.

For example, in school one rainy day long ago, I left my umbrella under my chair and left it there when class was over.  Hours later, I returned, and of course there it was.

Not long after I began driving as a teenager, I drove a couple of miles to a gas station and filled up the tank.  I drove away having left the gas cap on the top of the car.  When I retraced my route later, there was the cap lying in the middle of the street not far from the gas station.

Sometimes my karma is really really positive I guess, because complete strangers have gone out of their way to return lost items to me.  Years ago I left my checkbook in a store or a bank or somewhere.  I didn’t even realize it was missing until about a day later when the doorbell rang, and when I answered, a guy handed me my checkbook.  He had driven several miles out of his way to return it.  I was so stunned, I could only say “thank you”, and after he left I wished I had offered him a cash reward.

Sometimes I think the spell is broken and all my luck has run out, but today I found my good luck has not run out!  This morning, I got up early to head for Forma gym to work out, but I discovered that a set of keys was missing.  I hate when I misplace things.  I looked all over the house.  Running late, I missed David and John at Forma, but I did manage to do an abbreviated and much-needed workout at 24 Hour Fitness.  I was able to get into my office with my extra key.  Of course it was bothering me all day, wondering where the keys could be.  As I went down to the parking garage to check inside the Civic for the second time for the missing Acura keyring, I received a call on my cell phone:  the owner of Forma told me someone had brought my keys into the gym, because the keyring had my Forma card with the UPC symbol on it; they ran it through the computer and found my name and number.  Voila!  I am SO lucky.

As I posted on Facebook, thank you VERY much to the Good Samaritan who turned in keys! I need to pay it forward big time.  I could not have lost them at the gym; I had not been there since I had the keys leaving work yesterday. So the nice person really did go out of their way!  Ironic that they were waiting for me at my original destination this morning.

I’m sure this is not the last time I misplace something valuable.  I hope my lucky streak continues!

About goldenbearflyer

Robert Martz is a writer who doesn't make any money writing, so he keeps a day job in finance. He lives and works in Walnut Creek, CA. He began blogging in 2011 as a way of taking responsibility for and finding a place to put his thoughts and feelings. He loves to eat, cook, and travel. He volunteers, practices yoga, runs, bicycles, hikes, and explores nature with passion and a child-like sense of wonder. He is inspired by his amazing friends, doers and other writers. Check out another of his blogs at http://goldenbearflyer.webnode.com/.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

