finding a personal trainer

Do you have to be a 1 percenter like a movie star or pro athlete to be able to afford a personal trainer?  I learned today another good example of how I’m not part of the life-of-leisure set.

This morning I met with Dae, a really great trainer at Forma gym.  He put me through a series of exercises to assess my athletic strengths and weaknesses.  We had talked about my goals in terms of preparing for GoRuck and adding strength and explosiveness.  I really like his attitude, knowledge, and obvious super-fitness, and he clearly understands what I need to accomplish.  Also, it doesn’t hurt that he is in a Rotary club, which to me means he is a person of high ethical standards and integrity.  After meeting several different trainers at Forma and 24 Hour Fitness, Dae is the one I would most want to work with at this point.

After the assessment, as I sat drinking a Gatorade and recovering from some light-headedness induced by a combination of the workout and a cold I am fighting, Dae gave me his spiel about the fitness program he recommends I follow for the next three months (three months to the day, in fact, before the start of the SF GoRuck Challenge for which I registered).  Twice a week workouts — first month focusing on strength, second month on conditioning, and third a combination of the two.

It all sounds perfect.

His fee is $80 per session.  Assuming 8 sessions per month, you can do the math — $640, or $1,920 over three months.

My heart sank.

Dae is an independent trainer who works out of Forma.  His fees are in addition to any base cost of gym membership.  He did say he would talk to the gym about a reduced membership rate for me if I work with him, but I have no idea what that would be.

At any rate, I would be looking at well in excess of $2,000, probably closer to at least $2,500 total.

Suffice it to say I was not expecting numbers that high to watch someone tell me how to exercise while I wear myself out.  Oh, I get it.  I really would benefit from a personal trainer, no doubt, in terms of staying motivated.  And Dae really knows what he’s talking about; I mean, you would have to meet him.

On the other hand, I could afford some really nice exercise equipment for that amount of money.  I could pay for a large chunk of a family vacation.  Actually, part of my dilemma is I can’t think of how to justify that amount of money for my training when I haven’t yet booked the family vacations for the year.

I have got to figure out a serious training regimen and start implementing it fast if I want to be ready for GoRuck.  Throwing money at a personal trainer is very tempting, in a way, because mentally I could convince myself I am making progress just having that plan in place.

But gee whiz…

About goldenbearflyer

Robert Martz is a writer who doesn't make any money writing, so he keeps a day job in finance. He lives and works in Walnut Creek, CA. He began blogging in 2011 as a way of taking responsibility for and finding a place to put his thoughts and feelings. He loves to eat, cook, and travel. He volunteers, practices yoga, runs, bicycles, hikes, and explores nature with passion and a child-like sense of wonder. He is inspired by his amazing friends, doers and other writers. Check out another of his blogs at http://goldenbearflyer.webnode.com/.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to finding a personal trainer

  1. Damn that is way too expensive. Go talk to Debbie at Forma – she is the blonde who runs the group class at the same time as Kim’s. It is a semi-private lesson. She should be much less expensive for a group class and tell her what you want to work on so you can focus on certain areas.

Leave a Reply

