Spontaneous Combustion

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One night last week I was having trouble falling asleep (well, one of several such nights), and this idea for a website just popped into my head:

http://goldenbearflyer.webnode.com/

The name has to do with the fact that I like being spontaneous and trying new things, and I wanted a cool ( or rather, HOT) means of letting the world know what I am doing.

Actually, one thing on my mind was that I was trying to decide whether I wanted to go into SF Friday night to a friend’s restaurant — Alvin Louie’s Hana Zen.  I definitely want to go at some point, but logistically after work it would be a bit of a hassle.  I met Alvin through GoRuck.  Friday night he was throwing a “Blue and White Party” in honor of fleet week, but the party didn’t even start until 10pm, so I told Karen we would just be going for dinner and to see the sunset on the Bay.

So, the thing is, I tend to be more of a follower than a leader, which is OK sometimes, but if other people make plans way ahead yet I want to be spontaneous, I realize that doesn’t always work out so well for me.  Here I was planning on going to a restaurant based on someone else’s idea for a party.  I decided then and there that I wanted to go where I wanted to go.

I lay in bed for the better part of an hour coalescing my thoughts, and around 1am, I told myself, the hell with this, I have to get this stuff out of my head so I can get some sleep and be able to work Friday.  (I did have quite a few tasks needing attention and could not take the day off.)  I got up, went into the kitchen, found a pencil and paper, and sketched out the entire webpage in about 10 minutes or so.

Sometimes what seem like great ideas in the middle of the night turn out to be crap.  However, I felt great about it that night, and I love the way it turned out.  On Sunday afternoon I finally had time to sit down and set up the page online.  I’ll bet I spent no more than an hour or so stitching it together.  It took another hour or so to finalize it only because I kept trying different templates to find the general design I ultimately chose.  I had a football game on TV while I worked on the webpage.

What a fun way to spend an afternoon!  Instead of passively sitting around watching grown men toss around a pigskin, I felt great about creating something.  As for the content of the webpage itself, it is truly a liberating form of self-expression for me — a sort of reinvention of myself.  Just the way I spontaneously thought of the whole thing while lying sleepless in bed says a lot about me, I think.

The whole weekend was an excellent way to kick off Spontaneous Combustion.  Friday night I took Karen to Sasa in Walnut Creek, definitely one of my favorite restaurants, and some very good friends surprised me and met up there.  Saturday morning I could easily have chosen to roll over and go back to sleep, but I dragged my ass out of bed and headed into SF with my best buddy for a hard-core GoRuck-style workout.  Sunday, once again I could have opted to snooze, but I hit the road for a relatively fast 40-mile bike ride, followed by yoga class.  The rest is on WebNode for all to see!

 

 

 

About goldenbearflyer

Robert Martz is a writer who doesn't make any money writing, so he keeps a day job in finance. He lives and works in Walnut Creek, CA. He began blogging in 2011 as a way of taking responsibility for and finding a place to put his thoughts and feelings. He loves to eat, cook, and travel. He volunteers, practices yoga, runs, bicycles, hikes, and explores nature with passion and a child-like sense of wonder. He is inspired by his amazing friends, doers and other writers. Check out another of his blogs at http://goldenbearflyer.webnode.com/.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

