January Rocked

The other day, on Facebook I saw one of those “eCard” memes (usually funny, sarcastically funny, or intended to be) — something to the effect that “We will not speak of 2012 again.”  Some random guy who robo-posts shared it and got a few likes.  And I couldn’t help but comment that, although I “got” the intended humor, I feel as though 2012 was one of my best years ever.  Haven’t written a “year in review” post, but I should.  On the other hand, the more I tell myself I should, the more I want to resist being told to do it! 😉

Jumping the gun now and skipping ahead to a rundown of January.

A pessimist might say, well, the wheels are bound to fall off; this truck is going to break down at some point.  2013 can’t possibly be as good as last year.  I would say, sure, you can have your self-fulfilling prophecy if you want.  But I choose to remain optimistic and make things happen!

I will admit to having suffered a bit of mid-winter blues, right there at the start of the year.  For just a couple of down days, I was mired in a mini-slump, wondering if anything fun was on the horizon.  I snapped myself out of it quickly.  One great thing about the Facebook Timeline (I think I’m in the minority of users who don’t incessantly bitch about it), is that, as long as I share fun activities I’m doing, it’s a useful online journal of my, maybe not day-by-day, but sort of week-by-week life.  Perhaps that’s one reason I’ve been updating this blog less frequently?  Hmmm.  Probably just laziness…

At any rate, I can see that I posted an upbeat song by Luce and was all “Happy Friday!” on Jan. 4th. I distinctly recall that I felt bummed out just the night before.  Proof again of the power of positive thinking!  Simply by ACTING happy, I started improving my mood and outlook, and voilà!  I began turning my month around.

It wasn’t easy.  I suffered a depressing mood swing a few days later, and even went to far as to draft a whiny, feeling-sorry-for-myself post on this blog, which I actually published and then took right down again.  I had to fight to pull myself out of the doldrums.

And I did.  First, Karen and I had a really nice date night, taking advantage of some gift certificates we received for Christmas.  We saw the movie Silver Linings Playbook, and it was quite fun and entertaining.  The next morning, I got up early and headed to Tilden Park.  Met up with  a running club, including my friend David Denison.  Ended up running nearly a half marathon along the trails in the Grizzly Peak area.  So glad I did it, because without planning to, I completed the longest, most difficult run I’ve ever done.  I was pretty tired after that!

Tilden run

Because I can’t always be completely spontaneous — gotta actually plan ahead for some things! — I booked our family trip to New York City and Philadelphia.  So, that’s not really a January thing, but it definitely brightened my mood to think that in less than 3 months (less than 2 as I write this) we would be seeing a Broadway show, museums, Central Park, and all kinds of Big Apple sights with Lara on her spring break.  (Erik won’t be able to join us, because his college spring break is the week before our trip.)

A few days later, before work, I ran a few miles with my friend Kim and some other folks, who were in the midst of a 53K!  That was a great accomplishment for them, and I was happy to participate in just a small slice of it.  That night, I went out and saw the movie Django, which was really really good.

Keeping things light and fun, I went with the Pearsons and Jatofts to the Color Vibe 5K in Vallejo on the 19th.  We walked it, along with about 5,000 other joggers and walkers.  It was a blast!

Color Vibe Vallejo

I donated blood, too.  I give myself credit for that.  Very important to help out in that way. And it’s a bit of a sacrifice relative to my physical activities, because it does slow me down for at least a week.  In fact, on my next long bike ride after giving blood, I felt a bit out of breath and slow!  Horribly slow.  But I managed to complete a 58-mile ride, check.

Oh my, I almost forgot.  All month long, I took part in a GoRuck-inspired challenge to do at least 10,000 push-ups during January.  I worked my way up to 400 a day.  One day I did 600.  Ended up doing 11,200!  Damn, my shoulders were tired, and my left shoulder threatened to give out completely on Jan. 31st, but I think some of that was mental.

All in all, I was pretty happy with the way January turned out!

And February is off to an amazing start!  But that is a story that will never be told.  I have to have some secrets. 😉

About goldenbearflyer

Robert Martz is a writer who doesn't make any money writing, so he keeps a day job in finance. He lives and works in Walnut Creek, CA. He began blogging in 2011 as a way of taking responsibility for and finding a place to put his thoughts and feelings. He loves to eat, cook, and travel. He volunteers, practices yoga, runs, bicycles, hikes, and explores nature with passion and a child-like sense of wonder. He is inspired by his amazing friends, doers and other writers. Check out another of his blogs at http://goldenbearflyer.webnode.com/.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to January Rocked

  1. prolifemama says:

    Hello – I’m Mary Helen Adamshick. I happened across one of your blog entries about Ave Maria – thank you for your very kind words. I do not have any idea who you are; though a commenter addressed you as “Robert,” I’m still clueless. I would be happy to record the song for you, as professionally as I can, if you like – just not certain how to get in touch with you and still maintain privacy for us both. Do you have any ideas? I don’t post a blog, so not sure how to tell you to contact me. I’m still in Columbus, Ohio, but am married, so the last name’s different. I wish you a good Saturday!

    • Hi, Mary Helen! I’m so happy to hear from you. You know me (or at least of me; I can’t vouch for how memorable I am LOL). I grew up in Columbus, and you knew my parents (who have both passed). I won’t say more here, for the sake of privacy, but please feel free to contact me at: goldenbearflyer@yahoo.com

Leave a Reply

