more happy songs

The other day I heard a song that made me sort of sad, and I really didn’t feel like being sad.  Music can definitely have an instant, emotional impact on me.  Fortunately, for every sad song there are a dozen or so that make me feel good.  In search of a groove, I found my old post called “happy songs” and listened to a few of those, and it did the trick. 🙂

That got me to thinking about expanding my list of favorite happy songs, and so here are more!

Shambala

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xnyh6i9NvmE

Three Dog Night is a really cool group that churned out hits from 1968-76, and Shambala captured the essence of the band and the hippie era.  Cory Wells’ bluesy vocals and Mike Allsup’s fine guitar work highlight the record.  How can you go wrong with idyllic lyrics like this?

Everyone is happy, everyone is so kind
On the road to Shambala…

I Can See Clearly Now

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NkwJ-g0iJ6w

The version by Johnny Nash is the only one for me!  I think I first heard it on one of the K-tel vinyl collections of hit songs, and it stood above most of the other pop songs on the album.  Nash has such a clear, soaring, effortless voice.  (Not sure why he was a one-hit wonder; his career seemed to peter out after this song made it to #1 in 1972.)  Even if it were a gloomy, rainy day,  this song can cheer you up!

Sing a Song

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RFLC8XzO6Yg

Not surprisingly, I can’t help but want to sing along with Sing a Song!  Light and catchy.  Love Earth, Wind & Fire!  Pure pop vocal bliss.

Three Little Birds

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PGYAAsHT4QE

I absolutely love this song!  I’ll let the lyrics speak for themselves:

Rise up this mornin’,
Smiled with the risin’ sun,
Three little birds
Pitch by my doorstep
Singin’ sweet songs
Of melodies pure and true,
Sayin’, “This is my message to you-ou-ou:”

Up on the Roof

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-rwNbef5Gac

I couldn’t find a video of the original Drifters peforming this 1963 classic, so I settled for a YouTube video that included lyrics.  Although the music itself has a rather slow tempo, the soothing rhythm and therapeutic message beg for a cool drink in the evening — maybe not on the roof, but perhaps a balcony or porch?!

About goldenbearflyer

Robert Martz is a writer who doesn't make any money writing, so he keeps a day job in finance. He lives and works in Walnut Creek, CA. He began blogging in 2011 as a way of taking responsibility for and finding a place to put his thoughts and feelings. He loves to eat, cook, and travel. He volunteers, practices yoga, runs, bicycles, hikes, and explores nature with passion and a child-like sense of wonder. He is inspired by his amazing friends, doers and other writers. Check out another of his blogs at http://goldenbearflyer.webnode.com/.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

