grateful for friends & family

I am continually amazed and humbled by the kindness and generosity of my friends, especially during this challenging time of transition.  I do not believe the notion “ask and you shall receive” is always true for everyone.  Lots of people hope and pray to win the lottery, but as we all know, the odds are astronomical.  Nevertheless, when good friends know I need help, they are there for me in a big way.

I recently moved into a 1-bedroom apartment, and I didn’t have any furniture for it.  In some ways, I need almost everything!  On the other hand, I am finding it really liberating and experimental to start with nothing, having stripped everything away, and consider only the absolute essentials of what I need to exist.  (Ice cube trays, for example, are not essential!  I suppose I ought to have some in case I have company…)  It’s interesting how much stuff we accumulate that we think we “need”, but we really don’t.  I’m not ready to live in a cabin in the woods of Montana, but I really don’t need a TV.  I do, however, need a place to sit!  Lying on the floor or bed in front of my laptop is bad for my back.

The first thing I bought was a bed.  Plush mattress, very comfy.  And bed sheets, of course.  That is the bare minimum, furniture-wise.  Mind you, I don’t actually NEED a bed, because I could have used the camping air mattress and a sleeping bag.  Again, not good for my back, though.  I found a really nice deal on a bed at a discount furniture store in Concord.  Beyond that, I bought some bath towels and various household items at Costco, Bed Bath & Beyond, Big Lots, Target, and the Dollar Store.  Couple of hundred bucks, tops. My apartment was looking basically empty, but I was not discouraged.

Over the past week, however, I have experienced an outpouring of generosity from a number of friends.  Without being asked, one friend has offered a queen-size bed from Ikea.  Holy moley, I am so lucky that she happened to be looking to get rid of it to make more space for a home office.  Although I bought the other bed, we were in the market for another bed, because Erik wants one for the house in Santa Cruz.  I will let him have either the queen-size (if the mattress proves to be too firm for me) or my full-size bed.  She also treated me to a very nice dinner at Piazza D’Angelo in Mill Valley.  The only negative was that I left an expensive North Face windbreaker hanging on my chair in the restaurant, and somebody took it instead of turning it in.  Ah well…

Next, another friend offered me a decent wooden table and 4 chairs, which go well in my living room.  Not only that, she gave me a set of 4 new wine glasses, kitchen towels, ice cube trays (because I had joked about not having those), dark chocolate peanut M&Ms, and a whole apple pie from Fat Apples, my favorite!  On top of all that, she cooked king salmon for me and made a nice salad.  Truly wonderful, I was blown away.

A co-worker gave me a baking sheet and some other kitchen items, once more simply out of the goodness of her heart.

I truly hope I can find some way to pay it forward and do something nice for these friends (and others) in return, even though they are so gracious that they do not expect or want anything.

Food for my soul also came from my oldest brother, with whom I had a 2+ hour, in-depth talk about what’s going on in our lives.  Although he lives in Wisconsin and cannot be here at this time, talking on the phone is the next best thing, and I am so happy he was available the other night.  I have not reached all my siblings in the past couple of weeks, but I know I will soon.

Sometimes the universe does provide what we need or want.  Good things do sometimes come to people, although I believe that good is attracted to good, and I like to believe these things are happening because I am radiating some measure of positive energy.  I want to keep the ball rolling and continue on this path that feels so right.  It’s so much easier knowing I have the love and support of my friends and family.

About goldenbearflyer

Robert Martz is a writer who doesn't make any money writing, so he keeps a day job in finance. He lives and works in Walnut Creek, CA. He began blogging in 2011 as a way of taking responsibility for and finding a place to put his thoughts and feelings. He loves to eat, cook, and travel. He volunteers, practices yoga, runs, bicycles, hikes, and explores nature with passion and a child-like sense of wonder. He is inspired by his amazing friends, doers and other writers. Check out another of his blogs at http://goldenbearflyer.webnode.com/.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to grateful for friends & family

  1. MagicMoon11 says:

    It is wonderful to acknowledge those that have an impact in our lives and to be grateful for even the tiny things that make a large difference.
    I believe that the Universe does provide what we need, always. We humans don’t always see the value behind what is brought to us and can too easily label it “bad” or “good”. Not winning the lottery can be just as big of a gift to us as we imagine winning would be. It’s all perception and our perception can become warped in this society. What we deem as “good” isn’t always the best for us just as what we deem as “bad” can be exactly what we are in need of. We grow and learn through it all.
    Congratulations on your new place, on summoning the love and generosity of those around you and for your desire and active role in paying if forward. I wish you well as you build this new foundation.

    • Thank you, MagicMoon! I wish you the same in return. 🙂

      I appreciate your comments about “good” and “bad”. So true. I never really thought of it that way. Seeing the value in everything brought to us is a very healthy, constructive approach.

Leave a Reply

