Each day is amazing – part 1

OK, bear with me, this is another “music as the soundtrack of my life and life is amazing” post (or trilogy of posts, because I couldn’t figure out how to paste a link into a regular “text” post like I used to, because apparently WordPress changed the interface). I just returned from a superb Thai food lunch at Savanh in Pleasant Hill with my awesome friend Kris. We covered so many topics of conversation that it will be difficult for me to remember half of what was said. The miracle of it is that 3 songs on the radio while driving back to the office captured the important themes.

First, as we were taking our seats, we noticed a large moth flitting around the dining area. Most people seem to find moths annoying and, I don’t know, creepy? Scary? But please, they are truly harmless. As Kris began to try to catch the moth, she explained she wanted to set it free outside. That’s the cool kind of person she is. Who cares about a moth? Kris does. I joined in, because she’s right. Unfortunately, the elusive bastard was just beyond our reach; in retrospect, I feel like I should have given it more effort. We both commented almost at the same time how we don’t kill spiders; we trap them under a container and set them free outside. Next, Kris tried to enlist the help of the restaurant staff in containing the moth. How nice, I thought, when like 4 or 5 employees began tracking the critter across the room. One woman managed to trap it on the ground, yay. Oh wait, she’s stomping it to death! WTF, dumb b****. Senseless. I slapped my hand to my forehead in disbelief and turned back toward Kris. She was upset. She said so, and I don’t blame her. Stupidly, I muttered, “I’m sorry.” I know it wasn’t my fault. But I felt like, damn, not on my watch. Why did we care? I said, “Kris, if anyone asks why, say ‘F*** you, that’s why.’ ” She got it. But we had to let that incident go.

What is amazing about this? Nothing much, unless you believe that nature is amazing. Every plant and animal is incredible and to be treasured. Even a moth.

And wouldn’t you know, one of the songs on the radio was How to Save a Life by the Fray, so I am sharing that in honor of the fallen moth. I don’t even know all the lyrics or if they make sense, but the title fits.

About goldenbearflyer

Robert Martz is a writer who doesn't make any money writing, so he keeps a day job in finance. He lives and works in Walnut Creek, CA. He began blogging in 2011 as a way of taking responsibility for and finding a place to put his thoughts and feelings. He loves to eat, cook, and travel. He volunteers, practices yoga, runs, bicycles, hikes, and explores nature with passion and a child-like sense of wonder. He is inspired by his amazing friends, doers and other writers. Check out another of his blogs at http://goldenbearflyer.webnode.com/.
Video | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

