Guides and Messengers

When we view creatures in nature, however beautiful, they are not necessarily just objects to enjoy beholding with our eyes.  Animals in particular can be powerful guides and messengers from whom we can gain valuable insights.

I was sitting in my office minding business, when I took a breather and glanced out the window. Resting merrily on a cable was a scrub jay who visits me frequently, preening and cleaning his feathers. I took some pics and wished my phone camera had a zoom lens.  He turned around by the time I had my camera ready.  I zoomed and cropped the photo below, but his more colorful blue head and shoulders cannot be seen well.

bluejay1b

Since my pic leaves much to be desired, I will share this Google image as well.  My friend looks somewhat like this…

 

Western_Scrub_Jay

Minutes later, I left the office for a walk in the sun. Right outside the front door of the building, I found not one but two dead birds on the ground within feet of each other. I am sorry I do not know what species they were.  First I saw a baby bird, and I felt sad. I happened to glance toward a wall, and next to it lay a bigger bird, and my heart broke. I went back in the building and grabbed some paper towels with which to carry the birds, then I found a place to bury them near some shrubs.

As I continued my walk, I contemplated and quickly realized a deeper meaning in the whole experience.  I almost cried, not out of grief but from the intensity of my cognition.  The discovery of a path dawned on me, and this is where it led:

Recently, I wrote a blog inspired by a hummingbird.  By opening myself to nature’s gift of the hummingbird, I reflected back to the universe my acknowledgment that birds are guides and messengers for me at this time.  Thus, the scrub jay came to visit me again as my guide. Birds represent flight.  The scrub jay symbolizes me taking flight.  Yesterday, I took a big step with a personal endeavor I have been tackling.  Simultaneously, I learned that an acquaintance is dying of cancer. The two dead birds represent people I know who are at that phase of their journeys, and they also sent me the message that I need to continue my flight if I am to reach my goal before I pass from this material world.

Not only does nature provide its beautiful creatures to send messages, I have learned over the past year to be more open-minded and less judgmental about the content of the messages themselves.  Rather than grading them as good or bad, I take my time to explore ways in which concepts typically viewed as “good” may not be beneficial to my journey, and things I was taught to think of as “bad” are often quite useful and helpful when examined in a broader context.

For example, rather than look at the dead birds and simply feel sad or bad, I accepted that it’s all part of the circle of life, and then I felt the connection with the scrub jay and meditated upon the messages that were there under the surface.

Everything has a purpose, and everything is energy. I sat by the pool and wrote this blog, soaking up not only the sun’s warmth and energy but also the less obvious forms of energy and powerful catalysts all around me in nature.

 

About goldenbearflyer

Robert Martz is a writer who doesn't make any money writing, so he keeps a day job in finance. He lives and works in Walnut Creek, CA. He began blogging in 2011 as a way of taking responsibility for and finding a place to put his thoughts and feelings. He loves to eat, cook, and travel. He volunteers, practices yoga, runs, bicycles, hikes, and explores nature with passion and a child-like sense of wonder. He is inspired by his amazing friends, doers and other writers. Check out another of his blogs at http://goldenbearflyer.webnode.com/.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Guides and Messengers

  1. MagicMoon11 says:

    In my family, we had magic happen on the day of my brother’s memorial at his site and it involved a hummingbird. My family now remembers him every time we see one. It’s beautiful to hear you also had a beautiful experience with our winged companions. Thank you for sharing your heart in your writing.

  2. I love the picture you shared of the hummingbird necklace! Very nice, very touching. Thank you for reading my blog and for your feedback. 🙂

Leave a Reply

