Feeling extra grateful

Saturday morning, I woke up, got ready, and headed into SF with some friends for a nice 5-mile run with Team RWB!  Back in WC, just had time to shower, eat, and throw my bags in the car (forgetting a few things in the process) before getting a last-minute phone call and racing over to Alamo to put in a couple of hours of volunteer work.  Being ‘on call’ makes me feel good and useful!

From there I drove straight down to Santa Cruz.  First, we made our way down to the beach and walked along for a ways talking and checking out the waterfront.  I saw an otter swimming not far offshore.  Afterward, I took Erik to dinner for some tasty burgers and fries.  After gorging ourselves, we took a nice 4-mile walk through the forest.  Nice bonding time!

14 - 1

I almost never watch TV, but it felt nice and comfy to laugh at some Parks & Recreation episodes, just hanging out with a few of his friends at the house.  That they accept an adult into their lair, their natural habitat, and nothing is weird about that is a rare, special feeling.

Sunday morning, Erik was still sleeping as I ate a bit and headed back into the woods to explore on my own.  I fulfilled my intention to go “off road”.  I specifically targeted a “No Trespassing” sign in order to discover what was beyond the edge of the pavement.  I chose a steep climb up a damp but not flowing creek bed.  Although the morning was cool and cloudy, I quickly removed my long-sleeve pullover as I worked up a sweat.  On the way back downhill, I literally skidded several feet at a time through poison oak and foliage and across the leaf-covered ground without falling — testing my balance for later in the day!

Walked and  chatted with three very nice friends down to a lighthouse and back, and then thankfully accepted some excellent leftovers as lunch before loading up cars and steering toward the beach.

Meeting Richard, the surf instructor, and spending 2 hours out in the waves for my first-ever surfing lesson was everything I hoped it would be and more.  Words can’t describe how great it felt to stand up on the board and skim along in front of the rushing water.  I had more solid rides than bad ones, for sure, and yes, I fell down quite a bit, but I can’t believe how well it went.  I am hooked and will definitely go again soon!

IMG_20140823_171507

Met up with Erik again for yummy pizza for dinner, and then we had ice cream for dessert at the house.  It was so good to spend time with him, and he was appreciative of the meals!

Does it suck to  come home and do laundry and have to go to work tomorrow?  Not at all!  I am very grateful to have a job that provides the means to enjoy a wonderful, exciting weekend.  Most of all, I am constantly thankful for my good health that enables me to do so many fun activities!

P.S. As I laid my head on my pillow last night, salt water ran out my nose.  Despite having worn ear plugs while surfing, water must have found its way into some obscure sinus cavities or my ear canals, escaping only at the end of a long, marvelously tiring day.

 

About goldenbearflyer

Robert Martz is a writer who doesn't make any money writing, so he keeps a day job in finance. He lives and works in Walnut Creek, CA. He began blogging in 2011 as a way of taking responsibility for and finding a place to put his thoughts and feelings. He loves to eat, cook, and travel. He volunteers, practices yoga, runs, bicycles, hikes, and explores nature with passion and a child-like sense of wonder. He is inspired by his amazing friends, doers and other writers. Check out another of his blogs at http://goldenbearflyer.webnode.com/.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

