Checking in on my neglected blog

I have experienced writer’s block for months, primarily due to stress in my work and personal life.

The good news is that my writing and creativity are sparking again.  I am using a hand-written journal, not publishing all my thoughts, but there it is.

July has been really good for me so far.  July 1st was of course literally the new half-year.  The first half of 2015 was rough.  Things are far from smooth, but the are trending upward.

It’s as if I need to go through some very challenging seas and clear the decks for the new voyage that is about to begin.

One unusual aspect of this awakening is that, although my writing is often accompanied by an emotional roller coaster, today in this moment I feel stable, confident, and at peace while also feeling more of my typical optimism — not flighty or giddy, but sure-footed.

I attribute this in part to great support from good friends.  They know who they are, and perhaps they may be tired of hearing my stuff, but if so they haven’t let on, and they are there when I need them.  In return, I endeavor to be there for them, and I think I have been largely successful in doing so.

I also credit my good health and high energy, which together allow me to continue being active and athletic.  Volunteer work, hiking, cycling, running, and other workouts release stress, burn extra sugar, create opportunities for fun social activity, and thus improve my mood and outlook.

Writing about all of this gets myself out of my own head and allows me to turn my attention outward toward being with and helping others.  Less thought, more action, is good for me.

Without friends, exercise, and creativity, I don’t know where I would be.

About goldenbearflyer

Robert Martz is a writer who doesn't make any money writing, so he keeps a day job in finance. He lives and works in Walnut Creek, CA. He began blogging in 2011 as a way of taking responsibility for and finding a place to put his thoughts and feelings. He loves to eat, cook, and travel. He volunteers, practices yoga, runs, bicycles, hikes, and explores nature with passion and a child-like sense of wonder. He is inspired by his amazing friends, doers and other writers. Check out another of his blogs at http://goldenbearflyer.webnode.com/.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

